Appetizers, Uncategorized

Spinach Balls

Spinach balls are a Christmas tradition started by my mom. I remember her making these ahead of the holidays, freezing them and then serving as an appetizer on Christmas day. Of course as a kid, I wouldn’t touch them I was a typical anti-spinach kid. But, I bet if I had given them a go I would have been surprised. I’ve found that even spinach haters enjoy these! I’ve adopted the tradition too, making these once a year…

img_9990

WHAT YOU NEED:

I’ve included a few different ingredient substitutes for a healthier version without sacrificing taste!

  • 2 packages frozen, chopped spinach
  • 2 cups breadcrumbs – use your favorite, I go with seasoned Pepperidge Farm
  • 1 stick Smart Balance (plant based “butter”, you can use regular butter)
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1/4 cup grated parm cheese
  • 1 clove garlic, diced
  • 4 eggs or 8 egg whites

Makes about 2 dozen depending on the  size of the spinach balls.

WHAT YOU DO:

  1. Preheat your oven to 35o degrees.
  2. Cook each package of spinach according to the package instructions. I go with the microwave method. Once cooked, let sit in a strainer to remove excess water. I usually press with a spoon to squeeze out as much water as possible.
  3. While the spinach is cooking, chop up the onion and melt the Smart Balance (or butter).
  4. Combine all ingredients in a big bowl and combine well.
  5. Let sit in the refrigerator for 20 minutes. Your mixture should look something like the below photo.

img_0042

5) Line baking sheets with parchment paper and place scoops of the mixture on the sheets. You can use a coffee scoop, fruit ball scooper or anything you have to help round the scoops.

6) Bake for 15- 20 minutes.

img_0047

Enjoy warm from the oven and they’re good cold too! Also, these can be made way ahead of time to freeze. Then, just bake the frozen spinach balls to heat through.

img_0091

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Spinach Balls”

Leave a Reply

