Snacks

Kale, Spinach and Blueberry Smoothie

I know, I know, EVERYONE is into smoothie making and juicing and has heard of, researched, or tried a smoothie diet or juice cleanse. My will power is not strong enough for feats that extreme — a juice cleanse includes a once a week burrito and wine, right? I believe in a balanced diet. This means part hamburgers, part brussels sprouts, part baguettes and part green (or purple) smoothies. Here’s why smoothies are part of my balance:

Kale shake ingredients

I love green smoothies because:

  • They’re a great way to get a high dose of nutrients and vitamins. This smoothie is full of iron, antioxidants, calcium, potassium, vitamins A, C, and K, and more.
  • Smoothies are perfect for sipping on while running weekend errands and filling enough to be lunch. Then, you won’t feel guilty about that burger for dinner.
  • I don’t know what it is, but when I drink these, I don’t feel tired during the day.
  • You can completely customize your smoothie to taste the way you like (it doesn’t have to be green)
  • Dare I say that I’ve hardly gotten sick since drinking these?

What You Need:

  • 1 1/4 cups almond milk
  • 2 generous handfuls of kale and spinach mix
  • 2 bananas, peeled and broken into pieces
  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1/4 cup frozen pineapple chunks
  • 2Β  t ground flaxseed meal

Note: this makes 2 smoothies.

What You Do:

This is super easy, so only two pictures here!

1) In a blender, combine the almond milk and greens and use the “liquefy setting” until liquefied and well combined.

2) Then, add the remaining ingredients and combine well.

kaleandblueberryshake

The blueberries actually make this green smoothie more purple…and much more blueberry in flavor. I usually drink two of these a week. Give it a try and experiment with some of your favorite fruits!

Recipe Tips:

1) I’m not kidding when I say you can customize this any way. Experiment with different greens (arugula, spring mix, etc), they really do alter the flavor. I’ve used greek yogurt instead of almond milk or any fruit I have around. You’ll figure out what you like best.

2) I often make this the night before to bring to work to avoid rushing around in the morning.

3) Don’t take the measurements and ingredient quantities too seriously. I just eyeball things. Plus, you save time by eliminating the whole exact measuring part!

Leave a Reply

